Book Launch Brilliances!

I have had such a bookish fortnight! My previous blog detailed the Waiting for Callback launch, but this month I’ve been lucky enough to attend the book launches of two friends in less than a week.

First up was the launch of The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury, and a few days later came Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton.


The crowds at the Sleeping Prince launch.

I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of The Sleeping Prince for Christmas from Mel, so by last week I had of course read it and cried over it and was ready to celebrate its brilliance! And it is an utterly fantastic companion and sequel to the first book The Sin Eater’s Daughter. Melinda is a compelling writer, whose plots are complex and thrilling. The books are perfect for readers of YA, as well as being a treat for hardened fantasy fans.

It’s a fantastic treat to get a copy of a book signed by the author under any circumstances, but Mel went one step further – and added a gold wax seal to the title page of the book! Other authors are going to have to up their game…

There were some truly heartfelt speeches from Scholastic, and it was lovely to see how passionate everyone is about Mel’s work. The evening rounded off with Mel brandishing a knife (photo evidence can be found online), and everyone enjoying the tastiest red velvet cake of all time. It was a spectaular launch, and I am so grateful to have been invited and to share the special evening with my agent-sister!

*

(L-R: Miriam Craig, Robin Stevens, Me, Emma Carroll)

A few days later, and I was back down in London for the launch of ‘wild west meets Arabian nights’ novel Rebel of the Sands. It’s already planted itself firmly in my favourite books, just for being so original and for having fantastic writing and characters. It is, as I said to someone that night, annoyingly good.

The launch, at Daunt Books, Cheapside, was completely packed out so the shop was heaving. The only place to stand was near the wine. Cough. I met some lovely people from Twitter, and others I knew by reputation, and it was a lovely night for networking and making friends.

It’s been another really wonderful week. I have loved being part of the literary scene, if only for a few days, and it’s been great to see people I really only know online in the flesh! Both of these stunning authors deserve every success, and I am so proud of both of them. Bravo.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s